Congratulations to Claire Cullen, our STEAMer of the year.

Winner - Division 1 National Beta Club (National) Spelling Bee 

Winner - National Pre teen Dance Championship #FullSTEAMAhead

Iris Rosenhagen, a finalist of the 2015 STEAM writing contest has recently launched a non profit C.A.R.E. (Community for Animal Respect and Education)via Facebook . According to Iris, "CARE provides opportunities for people to learn about the challenges animals face in today's world and inspires people to get involved to help them." Earlier this year, Iris received a grant from the Jane Goodall Foundation to fund her non profit work. With the funds from the grant, she and her team planted 4,000 milkweed and other native flowering plants.  Iris continues to  teach her community about the importance of pollinators and the plight of the Monarch Butterflies. #FullSTEAMAhead Iris!

Panelists Inspire Audience to Dream

Children and adults were inspired by panelists to pursue their dreams at a celebration of trailblazers in science, technology, engineering, arts and math (STEAM). 

 Free to the public, the event featured panelists representing the fields of science, technology, engineering, arts and math. Several STEAM mentors attended and networked with the audience. 

STEAMers enjoy coding session...

Women Writers Inspire Children

Ohio STEAMer Publishes Book, Launches Blog

Boafo Appiah Named Community Champion!

Katherine is the founder of Web Code Chicks, a group of women supporting girls and women in technology. 

Girls for STEAM celebrates Ada Lovelace and women trailblazers!

Pictured from left:

Dr. Morkor Newman - Shelby Childrens' Clinic

Dr. Angela Shiflet - Wofford College

Charlene Evans - Engineer

Dr. Patricia Foy - Converse College

Dr. Ann Catlla - Wofford College

Mary Levens - Spartanburg Science Center

1st Place - Camrynn Wilson
2nd Place - Claire Cullen
3rd Place - Kirsten Yeboah

1st Place - Ellie MacMullan
2nd Place - Emily Grace Coburn
3rd Place - Shepard Hawj

STEAM Writing Contest Finalist Launches C.A.R.E. Nonprofit

A heartfelt gratitude to authors Michel Stone, Sheila Ingle, Charmayne Brown, Kelsey Ronan, Donna Thornton and Hub City Writers' Project Executive Director - Betsy Teter for volunteering their precious time and talent during the Jesse S. Bobo Elementary's 'Women Readers are Leaders' week! ​

Along with six other recipients from Columbia, Charleston, Longs and North Charleston, Molina Healthcare has named Marjorie Boafo Appiah, a South Carolina Community Champion. Boafo Appiah founded Girls for STEAM in July 2014. As president of the organization, she collaborates with several women and nonprofits to promote education in the United States and abroad. 
The Community Champion award comes with a trophy and a cash prize. Boafo Appiah donated her cash prize to the Spartanburg County Foundation. Click here to learn about Molina Healthcare and the Community Champions Award.

STEAM Writing Contest Winners Announced

Designed to fulfill library wish lists and to provide children with reading books for the summer, books were distributed to libraries, communities and underserved areas around the world. 

Liza Osae Kwapong, a semi finalist of the annual STEAM writing contest has authored her first book. Danielle's Disastrous Days is a story about a girl who tries to save the music program at her school. The book is available on Amazon. Liza is donating half of the proceeds from her book sales to Children's hospitals. Liza and her sister Jazmeen, have also started a blog to inspire other kids. Learn about L& J Inspire here. We are proud of our STEAMers! 

Girls For STEAM Receive Humanitarian Award

We invite you to nominate a Woman of Merit between January 1 and April 15, 2018. The Woman of Merit is awarded yearly to a woman who seeks to empower others through action and deeds. A winner will be announced on October 20, 2018.


  • Nominee must be a resident of the United States 
  • Nominee's efforts should be verifiable via documentation

Please contact for more information

Katherine Wakefield Named Woman of Merit!

The City of Spartanburg honored Girls for STEAM with the Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award on Monday, January 18. The keynote speaker was none other than Vicky Free, the Executive Vice President of Marketing at BET (Black Entertainment Television).

Free inspired the audience by sharing nuggets of wisdom on service, family and purpose.  She charged the youth to go out into the world and shine. 

Marjorie Boafo Appiah, President of Girls For STEAM received the Humanitarian Award on behalf of our STEAMers.

Nominate a Woman of Merit

National Pre Teen Dance Champion and Spelling Bee Winner Named STEAMer of the Year

Panelists Pictured:

Dr. Amy Curtis - Radiation Oncologist, Gibbs Cancer Center
Celia Cooksey - Technology Instructor, Spartanburg Day School
Lakessa Wright - Senior Sales Executive, Milliken and Company
Charmayne Brown – Founder, Rejoice Magazine
Dr. Madelyn Young – Associate Professor of Economics, Converse College

Girls for STEAM 

Provides 50,000+ Children With Books... 

Congratulations -  STEAM Writing Contest winners! 

1st Place - Allesandra Sinclair
2nd Place - Gillian Fowler
3rd Place - Anna Catherine Leroy

1st Place - Caroline Watson
2nd Place - Taylor Cothran
3rd Place - Emily Buell